Russian Master Pieces

  • Concert Information
  • Biography
  • Program Notes
Buy Tickets

Date: Saturday, February 29th, 2020

Time: 7:30PM Concert Begins

        * 6:45 – Pre-concert talks are open to all ticket holders

Place: Memorial Auditorium

            1300 7th St

             Wichita Falls, TX


Julian Schwarz was born to a multigenerational musical family in 1991. He made his concerto debut at the age of 11 with the Seattle Symphony, and his US touring debut with the Moscow Radio Symphony Orchestra in 2010. Since being awarded first prize at the inaugural Schoenfeld International String Competition in 2013, he has led an active career as soloist, having made over 150 concerto appearances in the US and abroad. 

As a chamber musician, Julian performs extensively in recital with his fiancée Marika Bournaki. In 2016 the Schwarz-Bournaki duo was awarded first prize at the inaugural Boulder International String Competition’s “The Art of Duo,” and embarked on an extensive 10-recital tour of China in 2017. Julian is a founding member of the New York-based Frisson Ensemble and the Mile-End Trio. He performs frequently at Bargemusic in Brooklyn, and as a member of the Palladium Chamber Players in St Petersburg, Florida.  

Julian is an ardent supporter of new music, and has premiered concertos by Richard Danielpour, Samuel Jones and Dobrinka Tabakova. In the 17-18 season, he gave the world premiere of Lowell Liebermann’s first Cello Concerto with a consortium of six orchestras. 

A devoted teacher, Mr. Schwarz serves as Asst. Professor of Cello at Shenandoah Conservatory and on the artist faculty of New York University. Other faculty appointments include faculty teaching assistant to Joel Krosnick at The Juilliard School, and cello faculty at the Eastern Music Festival where he runs programming for the Tuesday evening chamber music series. 

Born in Seattle, Washington, Mr. Schwarz studied at the Academy of Music Northwest and the Lakeside School. He continued to the Colburn School in Los Angeles and then The Juilliard School to study with mentor Joel Krosnick (BM ‘14, MM ‘16). Other influential teachers include the late David Tonkonogui, the late Toby Saks, and Lynn Harrell. Julian plays a Neapolitan cello made by Gennaro Gagliano in 1743 and an American bow made by Paul Martin Siefried. He is an active contributor to Strings Magazine’s Artist Blog, and sits on the music committee of the National Arts Club. A Pirastro artist, he endorses and plays the "Perpetual" medium set of cello strings. Julian also proudly endorses Melos Rosin.